What are you smiling about?

So, why this? Why now? I (Emilie) have had several friends and even relatives who have started blogs. They are all extravagant and wonderful– providing they last more than two weeks. They all make me think, “wow, isn’t that neat.” In my courses in English Education, we have talked a lot about blogs, and it has seemed like most obviously the thing to do. Which is probably why I haven’t done it yet. Well, after mulling the idea over for entirely too long, I realized that heck yes I have extravagantly wonderful things happening in my life, and heck yes I would like to share them with the world. 

This summer, I married my best friend. Our love is disgustingly cliche in the most wonderful of ways. It is also often strange and surprising. Those are a few reasons, we thought we’d share some aspects of our life with you, the internet. The final, perhaps most convincing reason this blog has come to be, is that we are getting out of Dodge! Most of our employers know at this point, that Chris and I are packing up and leaving town in mid-September for a several month-long adventure. We are planning to WWOOF, meet people, make friends, learn, and suck the marrow out of life from now until August 2013. At that time Chris will enter medical school at A.T. Still College of Osteopathic Medicine, I will get a dog, and we will have a lot of experiences to remind us of the many ways to live life as our peers in Missouri become like raisins in a dusty cupboard (does this description clue you in to what I am terrified of becoming?).

Image

Chris recently started a Tumblr account, and we are leaving for a pre-adventure mini-trip to Portland, OR on Friday, so stay tuned!

2 responses to “What are you smiling about?

Leave a Reply

