Beaches, Forests, Curry, Iceland

Today (August 9) we did a lot. We spent the morning on the Pacific, in a town called Cannon Beach.  It was a fairly normal tourist beach town with one added bonus, a MONOLITH! ImageWe arrived early enough so that the majority of tourists will still sleeping in their tourist beds, and the tide was out, which meant we got to see sea anemones/starfish/etc. It was super awesome.Image After a lunch of fresh crab cakes, we set off for Saddle Mountain State Park.  One of the biggest draws to the Northwest for me has always been the opportunity to see giant trees dripping in moss and lichen.  While Saddle Mountain wasn’t quite the Olympic National Forest, it offered enough to satisfy my need to nerd out.

Image

Image

Emilie, watch out! The moss is after you…

– Break –

 

I’m sitting here, eating Kalé (curry) by myself, and it’s d-e-l-i-c-i-o-u-s.  The cheap Sapporo beer isn’t bad either. Top it all off with another opportunity to speak Kansai Japanese with the owner, and I’m feeling great!

Image

Wait! “Where’s Emilie,” you ask? Why, she’s enjoying the auditory creations of the Icelandic band Sigur Ros, with adventure mates Ong and Chris, 20 minutes away in a field! In fact, tonight we’re both destined to listen to something awesome.  Once I finish this awesome food, I’ll make my way across town on foot to a bar to see the musical antithesis to Sigur Ros, The Body.

Image

I know it took a long time, but I promised I’d post on part of our trip. Look forward to more (good) writing from Emilie, the results of our learning at ESA, and some current goings on!  –CNM

Leave a Reply

